The United Kingdom education qualification types




Educational Qualification Types In The United Kingdom

There are 9 qualification levels


Level 1 qualifications are:

GCSE - grades 3, 2, 1 or grades D, E, F, G

Level 1 certificate

Level 1 diploma

Level 1 national vocational qualification (NVQ)


Level 2 qualifications are:

The General Certificate of Education (GCE) Ordinary Level, O-level

GCSE, General Certificate of Secondary Education- grades 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4 or grades A*, A, B, C

Level 2 certificate

Level 2 diploma


Level 3 qualifications are:

A level, The General Certificate of Education (GCE) Advanced Level

AS level

International Baccalaureate diploma

Level 3 national certificate

Level 3 national diploma

Level 3 NVQ


Level 4 qualifications are:

Certificate of higher education (CertHE)

Higher national certificate (HNC)

Level 4 NVQ


Level 5 qualifications are:

Diploma of higher education (DipHE)

Foundation degree

Higher national diploma (HND)

Level 5 NVQ


Level 6 qualifications are:

Degree with honors - for example, bachelor of the Arts (BA) Hons, bachelor of science (BSc) Hons

Ordinary degree without honors

Level 6 NVQ


Level 7 qualifications are:

Master’s degree, for example, master of arts (MA), master of science (MSc)

Integrated master’s degree, for example, master of engineering (MEng)

Postgraduate certificate

Postgraduate diploma

Level 7 NVQ


Level 8 qualifications are:

Doctorate, for example, doctor of philosophy (Ph.D. or DPhil)