UK education system  英国教育体系




The education system in the UK is divided into four main parts, primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Children in the UK have to legally attend primary and secondary education which runs from about 5 years old until the student is 16 years old.


The major goals of primary education are achieving basic literacy and numeracy amongst all pupils, as well as establishing foundations in science, mathematics and other subjects. Children in England and Northern Ireland are assessed at the end of Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2.

Secondary education lasts for another five to seven years. Students who are between 12 and 16 years old are legally required to attend a secondary school in the UK.


Further education in the United Kingdom is usually a means to attain an intermediate, advanced or follow-up qualification necessary to progress into HE, or to begin a specific career path, e.g. accountant, engineer or veterinary surgeon. It is available to students over 16 at colleges of Further Education, through work-based learning, or adult and community learning institutions.


In the United Kingdom, higher education is offered by universities and non-university institutions (colleges, institutes, schools and academies) and provide both research-oriented and higher professional education. Degree programmes that culminate to a degree (bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degree) and non-degree programmes that lead to a vocational qualification such as a certificate or diploma. British higher education is highly valued around the globe for its quality and rigorous academic standards.





The UK Examination Boards英国考试委员会


Examination boards in the United Kingdom (sometimes called awarding bodies or awarding organisations) are the examination boards responsible for setting and awarding secondary education level qualifications, such as GCSEs, Standard Grades, A Levels, Highers and vocational qualifications, to students in the United Kingdom.  

The 5 boards in England, Wales and Northern Ireland are:   


-Assessment and Qualifications Alliance ( AQA )



-Council for Curriculum and Examinations Assessment ( CCEA )



-Pearson Edexcel.



-Oxford, Cambridge and RSA Exams ( OCR )



-Welsh Joint Examinations Committee ( WJEC )   



The UK Examination Boards

<<Click Here




The UK  Education  Qualification Types




<< Click Here